Hot Tub Party

Hot-Tub Party

As my niece is having a hot-tub party for her 13th birthday, the obvious choice for her cake was a tub – complete with friends – naturally all totally edible!!

First of all I made the basic models – they only needed to be the top half as they are sitting in the tub – then I coloured them, and carefully applied their features.

         

Then I dressed them in their swimsuits, before applying their hair – very important for teenagers that they have the correct hairstyle!!

No party is complete without beverages (in this case soft drinks only of course!!), so they all then got a drink, then were put to one side to set completely while I prepared the hot tub.

The cake was an 8” square Madeira, into which I cut a “seat” at each corner, and took the top inch of cake off to make room for the water.

I then marzipanned the entire cake, then created the outer casing with black fondant, topped with grey fondant to match the design of our hot-tub.

The girls were then carefully placed at each corner of the tub, and I prepared the “water”.

Lime green is the favourite colour at the moment, so I made up some lime jelly, which I put it in the fridge to completely set. I coloured some fondant lime green too, and used this as the base for the water, with it lapping up over the girls.  Once the jelly was set I put it over the fondant to give a water effect (the tub has coloured lights which colour the water so this looked quite realistic).

As I’ve said in earlier posts, it is quite a year for “special” birthdays in our family this year, and my niece’s dad is 50 two days after her 13th – no men were allowed to join the hot-tub party, but at his meal that evening, his model did gate-crash the cake – complete with a very large glass of red wine!!!

This entry was posted in Baking, Cheshire, Concept Cakes, Decorated Cakes, Food, hot tub, jacuzzi, Sandbach and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hot Tub Party

  1. Leah says:

    amazing cake!

  2. Hi Leah,
    glad you liked the hot-tub cake – my niece was really delighted with it. Thanks for checking out the post. Ann

  3. Hi Jen,
    glad you liked the post – just checked out your blog – the place looks beautiful, as do most of your delicious recipes!! Ann

Leave a comment